Click here to edit title

Click here to edit subtitle

New Hampshire’s state-wide Rock-Paper-Scissors Tournament


December 16, 2013


   The Derryfield School is pleased to announce the results of this weekend’s Rock-Paper-Scissors Tournament.  The state-wide competition was open to students from all 350 middle and high schools in New Hampshire.  Each of the participating schools sent a single Champion to represent their school in the final tournament held on December 14th at the Derryfield School in Manchester. Thirty-five schools were represented from across the state. 

      After four thrilling rounds of intense hand-to-hand competition, a winner emerged from the nail-biting tumult. The 2013 State Champion is: Rebekah Johnson.  Rebekah is in 9th grade and attends Concord Christian Academy, in Concord. The blue bandana-clad Rebekah gave an impressive performance, delivering over 150 skillful individual throws and scoring a record 10 personal victories against other Tournament participants. A skillfully thrown Rock which crushed Scissors earned her the final win, thus becoming New Hampshire’s Rock-Paper-Scissors State Champion.  In addition to the thrill and glory of the event and the highly revered title, Rebekah also received a trophy and collected a $500 cash prize. Congratulations, Rebekah!


     In second place, was an enthusiastic Matthew Shipley, a 6th grader who hails from the Lebanon Middle School. Matthew’s exuberance, confidence and early performance was very strong out of the gate, but alas fell just shy of his goal of ultimate victory. As 2nd place finisher, Matthew collected a $250 cash prize. 


     The third place finisher, Sean Healy, hails from the Newmarket High School. Sean collected a $100 cash prize.

Fourth place went to Courtney Comeau from Sanborn Regional High. Courtney was unable to attend the event in-person and competed by proxy, and thanks goes out to Lauren Rolfs from Derryfield who acted as Courtney’s stand-in during the competition.


Other tournament semi-finalists included:


Noah Marshall, from Derryfield.

Keynan Lewton, from Oyster River.

Aiden Cox from Andover High.

Katie Killam from Hopkinton.


Congratulations to all who participated. We look forward to seeing you at next year’s Tournament.


Many thanks to Jack Miron who acted as lead organizer, Chris McNeil, Derryfield’s Director of Student Activities, the Derryfield School for hosting this event, as well as faculty, staff, parents and student volunteers for helping make the event a state-wide success.


Jack Miron

RPSNH2013 Chair

RPS Tournament winners: Rebekah Johnson (1st ), from Concord Christian Academy, Matthew Shipley (2nd) from Lebanon Middle School, Sean Healy (3rd) from Newmarket High and Jack Miron, Tournament Organizer from Derryfield.
New Hampshire’s Rock-Paper-Scissors State Champion: Rebekah Johnson, 9th grade from Concord Christian Academy, in Concord.
Celebrating the moment of victory!
 Making the final throw of the Championship!
Narrowing the field in an early round of competition
Preliminary round of competition